Date:26 February, 2015

Policy Maker Award for Glenis Willmott MEP

The European Organisation for Rare Diseases (EURORDIS ) has presented its 2015 awards for excellence in the field of rare diseases.  The Policy Maker Award was presented to Mrs Glenis Willmott MEP at the EURORDIS Gala Dinner on Tuesday 24th February.

Glenis Willmott has been the Labour Member of the European Parliament for the East Midlands since 2006 and has been re-elected three times as leader of the European Parliamentary Labour Party.  The citation reads that she has demonstrated outstanding dedication and commitment in addressing the needs of patients in the European Union.

Mrs Willmott is an active member of various committees including the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee and the MEPs against Cancer Forum. She deserves the award because of the instrumental role she has played in the passing of key legislation through her work as Rapporteur for the Regulation on Clinical Trials on medicinal products for human use and as Shadow Rapporteur for the Regulation establishing the Health for Growth Programme.

Other awards are:

European Rare Disease Leadership Award
Professor Josep Torrent-Farnell – Professor of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics at the Autonomous University of Barcelona.

Volunteer Award
Ms Rosa Sánchez de Vega – Rare disease patient advocate, co-founder of the Spanish Alliance for Rare Diseases and President of the European Federation of Aniridia.

Media Award
Mr Peter O’Donnell – Associate Editor of European Voice.

Patient Organisation Award
Children with SMA – Children with SMA is a voluntary, non-profit foundation which supports those affected by or involved with Spinal Muscular Atrophy in Ukraine.

Scientific Award
Professor Kate Bushby – Professor of Neuromuscular Genetics at Newcastle University and committed researcher in the field of rare diseases.

Company Award
Pfizer – The Pfizer Rare Disease Research Unit is dedicated to developing new medicines across the spectrum of rare diseases.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Ms Abbey Meyers – Outstanding rare disease patient advocate and founder of the National Organization for Rare Disorders in the USA.

The EURORDIS website is at